Battle casualties of Sulu encounter recognized

Fourteen battle casualties of the Joint Task Force Sulu were accorded with the Order of Lapu-lapu level of Kampilan Medal by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte during his visit in Sulu on Monday (September 24, 2018).

Said battle casualties are among the seventeen (17) who incurred shrapnel wounds after battling with more or less one hundred (100) fully armed Abu Sayyafs under senior leader Radullan Sahiron and sub leaders Hatib Hajan Sawadjaan and Idang Susukan at 1:30pm of September 14, 2018 in Barangay Bakong, Patikul, Sulu. Said encounter also resulted to 7 ASG members killed and wounding of 6 others including ASGSL Hatib Hajan Sawadjaan.

Second Lieutenant Manny Lonzanida, Corporal Rogen Baguio, Corporal Ruel Martinez, Private First Class Bryan Esmalana, Private First Class Jinker Rey Meneses, Private First Class Richard Corpin, Private First Class Richard Bagalay, Private First Class Marjon Fernandez, Private First Class Reynan Cale, Private First Class Johary Gempeso, Private First Class Romil Buno, Private First Class Jayson Andulana, Private First Class Jessie Steve Polinar, and Private First Class Merphy Raffy Elaydo were conferred at the Camp Teodulfo Bautista Station Hospital, Jolo, Sulu.

President Duterte was accompanied by Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana; General Carlito G. Galvez, Jr., Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of the Philippines; Lieutenant General Arnel B. Dela Vega, Commander, Western Mindanao Command; and other officers.

The other two battle casualties namely: Private First Class Jayson Cervantes and PO1 Richard Faryao, who were evacuated to the Camp Navarro General, Zamboanga City, were accorded with the Wounded Personnel Medal by none other than WestMinCom Chief Lieutenant General Arnel Dela Vega earlier today while Private First Class Ricky Cuñado was transferred to V-Luna Hospital, Quezon City for further medical attention.

Leave a Reply