Troops join Kapatagan’s 17th Zone of Peace Anniversary celebration

The troops of the 6th Infantry (REDSKIN) Battalion led by Lieutenant Colonel Clairemont Pinpin actively participated in the 17th Zone of Peace Anniversary celebration of the Municipality of Kapatagan, Lanao del Sur earlier today (March 18, 2019).

The activity spearheaded by Municipal Mayor Nhazruddin Maglangit, was held at the Kapatagan Public Plaza in Barangay Daguan of the said municipality.

“Let us join hands in helping our country fulfil the collective and elusive dream of peace, good governance and development for a better future,” Honorable Maglangit said emphasizing the unified efforts of the people of Kapatagan with the help of the Redskin Battalion and the PNP to maintain the peace and order in the community.

Following the all-out war in 2000 that displaced nearly a million villagers in Mindanao, Kapatagan was declared as a peace zone after the local government, military, MILF, sectoral leaders, and peace advocates signed a local security agreement.

“The Western Mindanao Command believes that peaceful resolution to conflicts are more rewarding and we can achieve this by raising awareness to the community on what conflict is about and how to respond properly,” said Lieutenant General Arnel B. Dela Vega, WestMinCom Commander.

The Redskin troopers assured that they will always stand ready and proud to do their part in continuing and strengthening partnership especially in attaining peace and development in their area of responsibility.

Leave a Reply